How We Operate

Kristin Murray-James, the new Executive Director of the Maine Assistance Program for Lawyers and Judges (MAP) is a 2012 graduate of the University of Maine Law School. For the past 10 years, Kristin served as an Assistant District Attorney in Kennebec County, focusing primarily on cases of domestic violence, sex crimes, and crimes against children. Practicing law was a second career for Kristin. In 1997 she completed her Master’s in Nursing from Yale University and practiced as a Certified-Nurse-Midwife, caring for women and families in Maine. Kristin does not see her careers as a midwife and a prosecutor as disparate; instead, she describes her career change as a natural progression of helping people through difficult times in their lives. Her service as the new executive director of MAP is the next step in this evolution. Kristin cites the importance of supporting Maine’s legal community in accessing resources to deal with the challenges facing Maine attorneys- stress, anxiety, depression, substance use, behavioral addictions, and life balance issues, as her primary motivation for taking on this new position. Kristin is looking forward to attending any gatherings of Maine lawyers to talk about the MAP program and how the program can help members of Maine’s legal community. Please contact Kristin with any questions or just to say hello.

MAP was established by rule of the Maine Supreme Judicial Court, which appoints eight governing commissioners comprised of six lawyers and two non-lawyers. The program is directed by Kristin Murray-James, Esq. and utilizes a large number of statewide lawyer and judge volunteers who have personal experience or training in addiction and/or mental health issues and are trained in CONFIDENTIALITY and how to provide peer assistance. MAP has also investigated and interviewed the professional service providers to whom referrals can be made.


  • Kristin Murray-James, Esq. – Director
  • Jane Moriarty, Esq. – MAP Commission Chair
  • Anthony Trask, Esq – MAP Commission Vice-Chair
  • Hon. Rick E. Lawrence – Supreme Court Liaison
  • Gerard Conley, Esq. – Secretary-Treasurer

Governing Commission

  • Gerard P. Conley, Esq.
  • Lisa Love, MSN, CNS, BC
  • Hon. MaryGay Kennedy
  • Jane Moriarty, Esq.
  • John Nicolas Ruf, Esq.
  • Charles Walter Smith, Esq.
  • Julia Teitel, Esq.


MAP presently has over 60 statewide volunteers who provide peer assistance regarding stress and depression as well as drug and substance abuse. The goal of MAP is to provide assistance and support to lawyers before mental health or addiction problems become debilitating and cause adverse consequences to these lawyers, their clients and their families.


Verified by MonsterInsights